www.thenewsroom.co.in www.thenewsroom.co.in
16 Jun 2019·
News Flash
Cyclone Vayu Unlikely to Make Landfall In Gujarat: IMD * Odisha: +2 Arts, Commerce Results to Be Declared Next Week * Odisha’s Valena Valentina Clinches Gold at National Karate Championship * One in Five Persons Living in Conflict Affected Areas Suffers from Mental Illness, New UN Figures Reveal * Naveen Congratulates DRDO for Successful Test Firing of HSTDV off Odisha Coast * BJP's Newfound Bonhomie has Many Questions to Be Answered * BJP in Dilemma to Elect Leader of Opposition in Odisha Assembly! * DRDO Successfully Test-Fires HSTDV off Odisha coast * IAF Begins Rescue and Search Operations for AN-32 Crash Survivors * Odisha: Fire Services Dept Conducting Fire Safety Inspection & Awareness Drive at Coaching Centres across State * Vintage Naveen in a New Avtar * AIIMS MBBS Entrance Exam Result to Be Announced Today * Gujarat to Seek Odisha’s Help in Combating Cyclone Vayu * Power Tariff to Remain Unchanged for 2019-20 in Odisha: OERC * Naveen Meets President Ram Nath Kovind * Ex-MLA K Surya Rao Quits Congress * Wreckage of Missing IAF Jet AN-32 Found in Arunachal Pradesh after 8 Days * Odisha: NDMA Team Visits Fani-Affected Areas to Oversee Restoration Works * Odisha Govt to Formulate New Agriculture Policy * Odisha: Assistant Statistical Officer in Vigilance Net in Balasore * All TV Channels to Be Allowed to Telecast Rath Yatra 2019 * Shikhar Dhawan Ruled Out of Team India for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 For Three Weeks Due to Thumb Injury * Mulayam Singh Admitted to Gurgaon Hospital * Two Odias Killed in Nepal Road Mishap * Odisha Scientist Mrutyunjay Mahapatra Appointed as India’s Permanent Representative with WMO


Odisha Poll Results: Heavywaights Suffer Defeat in State

Odisha Poll Results: Heavywaights Suffer Defeat in State

Bhubaneswar: Election results came as a shocker for many heavyweight including former minister and BJD’s Puri candidate for Assembly Maheswar Mohanty who was eyeing for another term. 

The defeat of Maheswar Mohanty, a former minister and five-time legislator of BJD from Puri was a major blow to the ruling party. Mohanty who has never faced defeat since 1995 lost to BJP’s Jayanta Kumar Sarangi. Sarangi a close associate of Mohanty had quit BJD this year after being denied a ticket.

Similarly, Sanjay Das Burma, a former minister of BJD and two time MLA from Brahmagiri assembly constituency lost to Lalitendu Bidyadhar Mohapatra of BJP. Lalitendu is the younger brother of former Congress heavyweight Lalatendu Bidyadhar Mohapatra. Former minister and three-time MLA from Rayagada, Lal Bihari Himirika was also left shocked after he lost to an independent candidate.

Another BJD candidate who lost the polls was Debashish Samantaray who was elected thrice to the state assembly. Samantaray, however, lost from Cuttack-Barbabati to Mohammed Moquim of Congress.

Damodar Rout a popular figure in Odisha politics also suffered a humiliating loss.

Other key candidates who faced defeat included five-time MLA of BJP from Patnagarh K.V Singh Deo, Odisha Congress chief Niranjan Patnaik from Ghasipura and Bhandaripokhari, Chirnjib Biswal Congress candidate from Jagatsinghpur, Raghunath Mohanty from Basta,