www.thenewsroom.co.in www.thenewsroom.co.in
26 Apr 2019·
News Flash
Mukesh Ambani’s Support to Congress Candidate Milind Deora Indicates Neither Modi Nor BJP Retaining Power: Ex-CM Prithviraj Chavan * BCCI Announces Teams for Women’s T20 Challenge, Odia Girl Sushree Dibyadarshini Included in Mithali Raj’s Velocity Team * Nirav Modi's Bail Plea Rejected by London Court Again * Odisha Elections 2019: Two Polling Officials Suspended for Dereliction of Duty * Congress Demands Fresh Polling for Tripura West Lok Sabha Seat Alleging Large Scale Rigging by BJP * You Are Visiting Odisha Only for Votes: Naveen to Central Leaders * Tribunal Stays EC Suspension of Karnataka IAS Officer Who Checked PM Modi's Chopper in Sambalpur * Naveen Pays Tribute to Krushna Chandra Gajapati on Birth Anniversary * Why Modi Desperately Needed Akshay Kumar for Image Building? * WI Announces 15-Member World Cup Team, Chris Gayle to Play His 5th WC * Hockey India Names 60 Players For The Senior Women’s National Coaching Camp * Pools and Match Schedules for FIH Series Finals in Bhubaneswar and Hiroshima Confirmed * BJD Demands Action against BJP for Electoral Violence * Jay Panda Using Politics as Platform to Boost His Business: BJD * Who Helped BJP MLA Candidate Om Prakash Mishra to Flee from Odisha, Asks BJD * Look Out Circular Issued against BJP MLA Candidate Om Prakash Mishra * No Priyanka Gandhi, Cong Fields Ajay Rai Against Modi * Odisha Will Play Major Role in Formation of Next Government at Centre: Naveen * Odisha Elections 2019: Re-polling Underway at Nine Booths * World Malaria Day: Odisha CM Pledges to Eliminate Mosquito-Borne Disease Completely * Undercurrent in Favour of Naveen Will Help BJD Win Jajpur Again * Cancel Baijayant’s Candidature: BJD to Chief Electoral Officer * World's First Malaria Vaccine Launched in Africa * Odisha Registers 71.61% Voter Turnout in Third Phase Polls * Pradeep Maharathy’s Bail Hearing Of bail Deferred To April 27


Odisha Chief Electoral Officer Gears up for General Election 2019

Odisha Chief Electoral Officer Gears up for General Election 2019

Bhubaneswar: The final voters’ list for the upcoming Lok Sabha and Odisha Assembly polls in the State will be out on 21 January, informed Odisha Chief Electoral Officer Surendra Kumar today here in  Bhubaneswar.

Adressing media  press Surendra Kumar said,  “The special revision process of electoral rolls is underway. Election Commission had earlier slated 31st October, 2018 as its deadline. Later on, the Election Commission extended it to 15 November due to our request. Our intension was that more and more voters should be included in the list in a bid to make electoral rolls transparent and healthy”.

“The deadline for the final voter list had been 4 January. As our revision process had been extended 15 more days, the final electoral rolls will be published on 21 January”, he further added.  

First level checking of all EVMs/VVPATs will be completed by 25 January.

Special derive to create awareness among voters over EVMs/VVPAT will start across 147 assembly constituencies from 7 January.
Training of poll officers will be completed by 25 February, he said.

There are total 37,606 booths in the State, if in future required, auxiliary booth can be made as per the provision.

“Now there are 89,337 ‘ballot units’, 91,869 ‘control units’ and 89,351 VVPAT machines are available with us. We have also requested to provide some more of them”, added Kumar.